Month: August 2012

  • Two Are Better Than One

     

    I haven’t read your novel, but I can imagine what it’s like.
    I think it is an excellent exercise in the use of your imaginations.
    I’m pleased with you for writing it.
    But now you must begin to look around you here at home.
    Use all of your senses to find out what kind of a place you are living in.
    Ask yourself how it smells, how it tastes, how it sounds,
    as well as how it looks.
    Then someday when you wish to write real books,
    you will put your real experiences into them.
    You will not need to go to imaginary countries half the world away
    for your material. Perhaps someday you will even write
    about this very year in your lives in Idaho. 180

    My friend Noel and I were sitting in her van, waiting for the key to a building. As we chatted, she looked straight ahead and said, “Carol Ryrie Brink grew up in that house. You know the author of Caddie Woodlawn?” My eyes widened as I nodded. At one time I loved Caddie Woodlawn more than Laura Ingalls. “She wrote several adult novels about the early days of Moscow,” Noel continued. “You might like them.”  I put the titles on my wishlist and waited. This summer I am on a Carol Ryrie Brink reading streak. Before I began her trilogy about Moscow, ID, I read a little-known children’s book.

    Two are Better Than One is a superb story for girls in that delicate time between dolls and bras.  Chrystal Reese and Cordelia Lark live a few blocks apart in the early 1900′s. Chrys is alone with her aunt and grandmother in a quiet house. Cordy lives with her dad and mom and four older brothers in a bustling house. When they aren’t playing with dolls, or going to Dorcas Club meetings, or exclaiming “Swellissimus!”, Chrys and Cordy decide to write a novel—by taking turns writing a chapter— about two dolls: The Romantical Perils of Lester and Lynette. This novel, included in the book with its juvenile spelling and construction gave me the loudest horse laugh:

    “Lester!” screamed Lynette, trying hard not to swoon,
    “You have come in the very niche of time.” 85

    Miss Hickenlooper, a new teacher, is a problem. She doesn’t understand them, even confiscates the miniature dolls. The girls nourish their grievance by writing a hate poem. She discovers the poem, the girls see the hurt they’ve afflicted. This section has stuck with me weeks after I finished the book. Here a few snippets from that scene:

    All along they had thought of Miss Hickenlooper as their enemy,
    a comical one to be sure, but an enemy nevertheless.
    And now she seemed to be not an enemy or even a villain
    but just a person who had been mocked and hurt
    by a couple of girls. 52

     
    …we didn’t mean it for hate.
    We thought it was—well, sort of funny.
    It made us feel better.
    We didn’t think about how you would feel. 53

    The girls go to some parties and begin to neglect the dolls. They serve punch at a college dance. The novel gets finished and Chrys and Cordy decide to stage a wedding for the dolls. This back and forth between the little girl and the almost grown-up mimics the conflict I’ve witnessed in adolescent girls. 

    As I get to know Carol Ryrie Brink, I see many autobiographical elements in this sweet story of friendship. The dedication is “…for Charlotte. She, better than anyone else, will be able to sift through all the make-believe and find the grains of truth.”  Like dear Laura Ingalls, the story of Chrys and Cordy harks back to a time when a girl had to learn how “to keep herself happy and amused.” 

     

  • I Know, Let’s Talk About Hormones

     

    Ah, you know…hormones. At my age, I hear this all the time. I say it myself. It’s the reason we are hot, the reason we are cold, the reason we are wet, the reason we are dry, the reason we can’t sleep, the reason we can’t wake up.  Many women my age feel like a hostage to hormones.

    If you need to take back your body, you will find much to consider in this book. Stanton addresses diet, exercise, stress, supplements, and, most importantly, bioidentical hormones. The book’s design and writing is about as exciting as a Wikipedia article. But the content is helpful.

    Bioidentical? Huh? This neologism describes a “hormone [which] is exactly the same as a hormone made by our bodies.”  This is different from conventional hormone replacement therapy.

    And we have just tripped off the path of traditional medicine onto the scenic bypass of alternative medicine. In other words, (lean close to me so I can whisper) the FDA hasn’t approved bioidentical hormones.

    Yes, there is controversy. Google “bioidentical hormones” and you will dance your way into the debate.

     

    May I tell you my story? Purely anecdotal evidence, but it’s my anecdote. 

    I’m not a physician, but I’m a pretty good reader. When the hot/cold/wet/dry problems began—roughly seven years ago—, my most pressing problem was an utterly deflated outlook on life. I woke up, took a shower, and wanted nothing more than to go back to bed.  Stanton discusses this in a section delightfully titled NOT YOUR MOTHER’S MENOPAUSE. 

    Initially, many women notice they have less energy or zest for life.
    They don’t get as excited about things that should matter,
    or just don’t have the energy to do things they used to enjoy.
    One day follows another, but none of them brings much joy.
    They might notice themselves getting irritable or exploding
    for reasons that, in retrospect, seem ridiculous.

     

    My respoonse to problems is to read. Shoot, my approach to life is to read. I looked through the lenses of both traditional and alternative medicine, searching for some sense. Across the spectrum, three words flashed: diet and exercise. No one argued with basic stuff like drinking more water and taking a walk. And I firmly believe that so many problems we blame hormones for can be corrected with real food and real movement.

    I work for a compounding pharmacy; I am an accountant and cannot pronounce the drug names. But, we have a library of books and CDs (where I got Hormone Harmony) that we lend out to physicians and customers. I took John Lee’s What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Menopause. When I read parts aloud to my husband, he dismissed it as rubbish. But one Sunday afternoon, we listened to Dr. Lee speak and his words filled us with hope.  “Let’s do this,” Curt said, although all the “doing” was mine. So I began using an over-the-counter bioidentical progesterone cream. 

    Because of my symptoms, my doctor had urged surgery as a solution. Well. He hadn’t urged surgery, but I’ve been longing to pair up that delicious pair of words. The big H. Take it out and be done with it. It made sense to everyone but me. I acknowledge that I have issues: my mom died immediately after a minor gynecological surgery. I wasn’t hysterical, but I refused to consent to a hysterectomy, to use another phrase I’ve tasted these many years.

    It wasn’t a shazam! solution, but I made progress with progesterone. I knew my OB/GYN would raise his eyebrows when I disclosed this bit of information. “I think you are wasting your money,” were his words. I decided to push back. “Are you telling me not to use bioidentical hormones? Because I want full cooperation between us; if you say to stop I will either stop or I’ll find a different doctor.”  I respected him and don’t believe in doing stuff—medically speaking—behind my physician’s back. He shrugged and relented.

    After a few years, I did my own experiment. I stopped the progesterone. The hot/cold/wet/dry symptoms came right back. That convinced me, and I continue on, with over the counter progesterone (which doesn’t require an RX to buy). Ideally, one should take a $150 saliva test that tells exactly what your hormone levels are. A physician or nurse practitioner uses that data to prescribed an individually formulated compound prescription for you.

    If you are curious, click on the link above and use the Look Inside! feature. If you type “frequently” in the search, you’ll be able to read a large part of the the FAQs.

  • A Corking Good Time

    My husband and I made our first cork board. We have our own; this was a gift for friends.
    Would you like to make one? Here are 5 things to consider.

    1. The frame. You can re-use frames you have around,
    look for old windows, etc. Garage sales are a great place to find frames.

     

    2. The backing. My husband cut 1/4″ plywood for this one.
    I imagine a hardware store/carpenter’s shop would do this for a small fee.

     

    3. Corks. I have a private supplier (my brother). Check with
    restaurants in your area. I set the synthetic ones aside.
    You can bid on bags of corks on Ebay.

     

    4. Design. I like the 2 x 2 design. If there was one thing I’d
    highlight it is these words of wisdom from my husband:
    “It’s just like tile: lay them out before you glue.”
    Impatient to get going, I had planned the glue-as-you-go method.
    But corks have different sizes and it took a bit of
    maneuvering to have a board without humps or gaps.

     

    5. Glue. I thought I would use a glue gun, but instead I used
    wood glue. I centered the writing/design on the corks.
    Let the board sit overnight, then turn it over to see if
    any corks are loose.
    Here is the finished work!