May 16, 2013

  • What Is Good?

     

    My husband and I are separating today. I’m headed “up the branch” to celebrate dear Anna’s wedding to Robert. Curt leaves tomorrow for Washington to celebrate dear Lori’s wedding to Gunnar on the same day. These brides are treasures to us: radiant, glorious jewels. I love to witness a wedding with my hand firmly gripped by Curt’s, but I am up to the rim with joy that we can each take part in these concurrent weddings.

    When I need only a few minutes of reading material, I often go to Alphabet Juice for a quick fix. On this double celebration week, I was astonished to discover what “good” means.

    from root ghedh- to unite, join, fit. Other derivatives: together, from the Old English togaedere, from the Germanic gaduri, in a body; gather, from the Old English gad(e)rian, from the Germanic gaduron, to come or bring together.

    When we hear the words, “We are gathered here today to witness the joining of two lives,” it will all be good.

Comments (2)

  • The Chinese character for good is a boy and a girl character together.

    I do know that it is not good for man to live alone and that being single is not an easy way to live.

    Congratulations to the married couples. They have a lifetime ahead of them that will not be an easy path to go alone.

  • @PPhilip - That is fascinating! Thanks for your comment.

    Carol

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *