Month: February 2008

  • Leaping with Joy

    Photos from yesterday's walk on the penultimate day of February:

    After our Long Winter, a 60° day

    The glorious color of the sky. What color blue would you call it?

    Mt. Emily

    Mt. Fanny (sort of)

    The trees are budding! More glory to come.

  • A Display of Ignorance

    Garrison Keillor's response to a letter asking what is fresh lutefisk?

    Ah, Sarah, Sarah, Sarah.  "I didn't want to show my ignorance" - that's the wrong road for an intelligent young woman to travel.  Showing ignorance is how we learn, it's how we get strangers to tell us their stories, it's how we experience the world fully.  False sophistication - putting on a cool knowingness - is the road to ignorance.

    "What is that?" No need to preface it  with an apology.  I say this from bitter experience, Sarah.  I wasted some of the best years of my life in pretending to a worldly sophistication that stopped my education right in its tracks.  Even today, people looking at me imagine that I know all sorts of things that in fact I'm stupid about. [...] Remember this little life lesson, Sarah.  Some of the great journalists of our time have found that nothing works so well in gathering information as a display of ignorance.  Happy New Year.  Garrison Keillor

    I subscribe to A Prairie Home Companion's weekly newsletter for one reason: to read the Post to the Host section.  I love GK's writing voice, his sense of pitch. He responds to random questions about writing, potato salad, giving a eulogy, bookstores, sons who lose a writing contest, music, and the meaning of fresh lutefisk.  [his full response to Sarah can be found by scrolling to the bottom of the link.]   If you enjoy this, there are archives back to January 1997. 

    False sophistication.  Guilty as charged.  Bluffer, nodder, phony me. Feigned comprehension. I remember the day in 1982 when my SIL said she was feeling ambiguous and I had no clue what she meant but murmured a vague response to cover up my ignorance.   The person who helps me the most  in this area is my cousin's wife, who freely and naturally says "I don't know what that word means; could you explain it?"  It is so refreshing.  No pretense.  No sham.  Ask and it shall be given to you...

  • Happiness Doubled by Wonder

    I do not, in my personal capacity,
    believe that a baby gets his best physical food by sucking his thumb;
    nor that a man gets his best moral food by sucking his soul,
    and denying its dependence on God or other good things.
    I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought,
    and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.
              ~ Gilbert Keith Chesterton in A Short History of England

    I'm developing a mental and written list of specific authors and books to look for while we browse second-hand bookshops in Great Britain.  I'm specifically looking for British or Continental authors whose works are hard to find or hard to fund (pay for) in America.

    Here's a start and I'd love reminders or suggestions from the audience!

    G.K. Chesterton
    Hilaire Belloc
    John Buchan
    O. Douglas
    Thomas Chalmers
    Leslie Thomas (new travel writer I just discovered - oh my!)
    George MacDonald (obscure works perhaps?)
    Arthur Quiller-Couch
    Enid Blyton
    Anthony Trollope

    It's funny: when I take a trip, one of the overriding concerns is which book(s) to take along?  Now I'm wondering which books will come home and will I find a treasure there?

    Full of happiness doubled by wonder,

     

  • Dinking Around with Meters

    The hymnal I'm most familiar with is the red Trinity Hymnal, the hymnal I used for this post. I learned about meters using the "by-guess-or-by-golly" self-teaching method.  Those were the days before you could go here.

    C.M. means common meter.  The pattern is 8 syllables, 6 syllables, 8 syllables, 6 syllables, or 8.6.8.6.  Get your fingers out and start counting the most famous C.M. hymn:

    Amazing grace, how sweet the sound (8)
    That saved a wretch like me. (6)
    I once was lost but now I'm found, (8)
    Was blind but now I see. (6)

    It's named C.M. because it is so common.  Do you remember at camp singing these words to House of the Rising Sun?

    S.M. stands for short meter.  6.6.8.6.

    Blest be the tie that binds
    our hearts in Christian love:
    the fellowship of kindred minds
    is like to that above.

    L.M. (long meter) has four lines of 8 as seen in Old Hundredth.  8.8.8.8.

    All people that on earth do dwell
    Sing to the Lord with cheerful voice;
    Him serve with mirth, his praise forth-tell,
    Come ye before him and rejoice.

    D. after any meter means to double that meter, as if you are singing two verses in a row.  It Came Upon A Midnight Clear is an example of C.M.DSweet Hour of Prayer is in L.M.D. as is St. Patrick's Breastplate.

    C.M. ref. tells you that a refrain is tacked on to the verse.
    C.M. rep. repeats the final phrase.  8.6.8.6.(6.)

    Can you guess what al. means?  You can if I give you examples.   All Creatures of Our God and King is L.M. al.; Christ the Lord is Risen Today is 7.7.7.7. al.

    Are you with me still? 

    I know this is obscure and I know you are thinking and why do we care?  There was a time when my husband led worship and picked out hymns and praise songs.  He is not a musician.  He would read the hymn book, find a hymn appropriate with that week's message, and want to use it.  The problem was that no one knew that tune.  So we shamelessly substituted tunes.  We looked at the meter, went back to the meter index, and found a tune we knew which worked with those words. We swapped words and music like kids swap lunches in school cafeterias. 

    Although the syllables match, the words and tunes don't always complement one another.  I remember in a surge of sophomoric silliness swapping words and tunes between Greensleeves and I Will Sing of My Redeemer, both 8.7.8.7. ref.   Never mind that one is a minor-tuned lullaby and the other a major-keyed Philip Bliss anthem.  Don't worry, I only did it in the privacy of my own home.

    If you get your jollies out of this sort of thing, pretty soon the names of tunes become familiar to you. You get around church musicians who toss tune names around like infielders after an easy out.  

    I'm telling you, there are curiosities abounding: Dam Buster's March cracks me up. Which dam were they busting when they sang that tune? Many tunes are named after saints, even little known saints like St. Etheldreda.  Geography grabs a large segment: countries such as Germany; cities such as Madrid, Jerusalem, and Dumferline; and even streets get their due: State Street and Park Street are two.  Some take the names of their composers, Haydn and Mozart, some tunes honor others, Moody and Rutherford.

    Foreign languages abound: Latin - Sine Nomine, Lux Prima; German - SCHÜCKE DICH, and Es Ist Ein' Ros' Entsprungen [I love speaking these German names] ;Welsh - Ar Hyd Y Nos; French - Quelle Est Cette Odeur Agreable [we are glad the Agreable is in that name]; Swedish - Tryggare Kan Ingen Vara; and Polish - W Zlobie Lezy.

    Certain tune names are lovely in their simplicity: Listening, Peace, Sweet Story and Cradle Song.  

    So there it is.  Call me a nerd: I find this great fun.

  • Hymnals

    My friend Tanabu Girl's last comment has tickled my noggin.  Her church (Missouri Synod Lutheran) has new hymnals with a small triangle next to the last verse of hymns when that last verse is a benediction to the Trinity (see the last verse of Only-Begotten as an example). The small triangle is a reminder to stand to sing that verse.  How glorious is that? 

    I love hymnals.

    We took a hymnal with us on our honeymoon, I love them that much.  I collect hymnals and have a shelf dedicated to my collection, close to the piano.  I love to compare renditions, find new verses which we never sing anymore, learn the names of tunes, interchange tunes, and finally play and sing through them. 

    I'm sad at the thought of hymnals going the way of IBM Selectric typewriters.  I grieve at the trend of the modern church to sing off the wall.  Precious few choruses match the weight of glory that a hymn has. Praise songs come and go; most have the life span of a mosquito.  And even if we sing older hymns off the wall (you know I mean with a projector), we are singing in unison and miss the texture and depth of harmony.   We aren't even aware of what we have lost.

    I'm not against new songs.  We're told to sing a new song to the Lord.  Most of our new songs, sadly, reflect the shallowness of our culture.  I'm thankful for the few which don't.

    But I digress.  Hymnals are great devotional tools.  It is good to read through them.  A phrase may just attach itself to your soul.

     Solid joys and lasting treasure none but Zion's children know
    They who trust Him wholly, find Him wholly true
    .
    How oft in grief, hath He not brought you relief?

    A friend used this verse on baby shower invitations:

    People and realms of ev'ry tongue dwell on His love with sweetest song;
    And infant voices shall proclaim their earthly blessings on His name.

    One of my favorite afternoons in the last five years was spent with a retired Canadian friend, Marjorie.  Marjorie grew up in the Anglican church as a child in Jamaica.  I had bags of basil plants which needed to be cleaned and trimmed to make pesto.  We stood together at the counter snipping leaves while singing to the music of A Vaughan Williams Hymnal, surely one of my favorite CDs of all time.  Dear Marjorie grew up on these hymns and had them memorized. We joined our voices, alternately thin and sketchy, bold and booming, and sang our hearts out. 

    Firmly I believe and truly,
    God is Three, and God is One;
    And I next acknowledge duly
    Manhood taken by the Son.

    I have my eye on a hymnal which doesn't yet have a home on my shelf, The New English Hymnal. Of course, I'd need to get this too.  Did I mention that we will attend an Evensong at the York Minster? 

    Do you have a favorite hymnal?  Do you remember a hymnal from your childhood?

  • An Awesome Ancient Hymn

    To begin, you will not find the word awesome on any post I've written before this.  I only use the word to describe that which inspires awe.

    The Lord is so kind.  The one hymn I've wanted for my funeral since I was 19 years old, Vaughan Williams' For All the Saints, is now regularly sung by my loved ones and fellow worshipers.  If I were to die tonight, I have all the confidence that my wishes to have this song sung at my funeral would be fulfilled.  I could not say that ten years ago.

    After we had sung Only-Begotten, Word of God Eternal during communion today, I notified my husband that he only has to remember two hymns: For All the Saints and Only-Begotten.  This Latin hymn from the ninth century is one of the most potent expressions of worship.  The music (click on MIDI for a creepy electronic sound [I'm searching for a better version], print out the music free on Adobe) has a majesty and gravitas that is unparalleled. I am never able to sing through every verse.  Lumps, great lumps, arise.  The Trinitarian benediction is glorious. 

    Only-begotten, Word of God eternal,
    Lord of creation, merciful and mighty:
    Hear now Thy servants, when their joyful voices
    Rise to Thy presence.

    This is Thy temple; here Thy presence holy;
    Here may Thy servants, at the mystic banquet,
    Humbly adoring, take Thy body broken,
    Drink of Thy chalice.

    Here in our sickness, healing grace aboundeth,
    Light in our blindness, in our toil refreshment:
    Sin is forgiven, hope o'er fear prevaileth,
    Joy over sorrow.

    Hallowed this dwelling where the Lord abideth,
    This is none other than the gate of heaven;
    Strangers and pilgrims, seeking homes eternal,
    Pass through its portals.

    Lord, we beseech Thee, as we throng Thy temple,
    By Thy past blessings, by Thy present bounty,
    Favor Thy children, and with tender mercy
    Hear our petitions.

    God in three Persons, Father everlasting,
    Son co-eternal, ever-blessed Spirit,
    Thine be the glory, praise, and adoration,
    Now and forever. 

    Gratefully,

  • The Chore I Adore

    Cleaning bookshelves.  Reshelving, reorganizing, touching, opening, reading.

    I just can't help it.  I love my books.

    Tools:
        A small vacuum cleaner to vacuum the dust off the tops
        An old cloth diaper to clean the shelves.
        A stool for those upper shelves.

    Some books are going - sayonara.

    Some books are old friends.  They bring me back to the place I was when I read them, or the people who discussed that book with me, or the events in my life when I was in the midst of that book.  I peek inside for an underlined bit, or look inside the front cover for a page number that's sure to be wonderful. 

    Some books are patient friends waiting for a chance to get together and have tea. Every time I do this chore I look at my Harvard Classics "Famous Prefaces" and think awww, I'd love to read that book.

    I set two books together as I would introduce friends of mine: I think you two will get along very well.

    I remove a book which is so out place: What are you doing here?  You need to get back to your home.

    If you've see Miss Potter, just imagine me talking to my books like she talked to her drawings.  You must see me smiling. 

    Back to work...

  • February's Pleasures

    ~  Adjectival  forms of cities. 

    The Glaswegian dialect (also called Glasgow patter*) can be particularly difficult to decode.  I learned the meaning of Glaswegian one evening this week and came across it the next day.  Finding a new vocabulary word the second time is more fun than the first.  Hey!  I know you!  (*So, noo thit yez ‘uv been telt  aboot the wye thit
    Glesca punters yaze ra patter don’t yooz bloks try in’ make
    iz look luk eejits thit cannae talk right oan yer fancy high
    falutin’ American websites, awright!!)

    My son and I watched Gaudy Night on Netflix Instant Watch.  As the movie opened on to an old English campus, Collin said "That looks Oxfordian"  (can you see me looking at you, mouthing the word with a wide-eyed questioning look and shrug ... Oxfordian?)  I delight in learning correct local appelations which make me feel less like a tourist and more like a temporary resident.  Coming from my son is sprinkles on top of Cold Stone. Oxfordian

    ~  Pansies.  There's nothing like an injection of color on a gray-white February day.  These girls need water, food, something.  But they give me great pleasure. $0.98 at the local box store.

    ~  New food experience: friends had us over and fixed seafood gumbo.  I learned that if it's called gumbo it has okra in it.  I never knew I liked okra!  Yum, yum!

    ~  Photography tutorials
     
        BetterPhoto.com  The courses cost $$, but free tips and great links abound
        PhotoSecrets.com  I'm soaking up "Great Landscape Photography"
        PhotoCourse.com  Clicking on sample chapter downloads the entire book.

    ~  Resurfaced notes.  I did a Grand Canyon Clean (very deep, took all day) of my desk and found this quote I scribbled down, no attribution, long before we were given a trip to Great Britain.

    If architecture is
    the art of enclosing light and air
    in a shell of stone,
    then Lincoln Cathedral is
    one of the world's masterpieces.

     
     Photo by Sam Stroube
    William Byrd was the organist at Lincoln from 1563-1572.
    Do you know Byrd's music?

    Lincoln Cathedral, Angel Choir, 1895 by Sally Maltby
    Art.com More Sally Maltby

    Happy Friday, my online friends,

  • Rick Steves in Europe

    Postcards from Europe was a fun, light read.  It weaves stories from Rick's early life of travel with a current (1999) solo blitz around Europe.  Rick's signature phrase Europe through the back door promotes travel which spends less money, connects with locals, is more informal, and gets off the beaten path.  In this narrative (although he can never completely shed his role as teacher) Rick reveals stories behind the scenes.  He is a looser, less buttoned-up guide.  He doesn't purge the book of potentially offensive subjects such as the fact that in Denmark the word journey is spelled fart, or that Amsterdam offers every available vice.       

    Face it, Rick Steves has an enviable job: annual trips to Europe which are tax-deductible, friends around the globe, breathing history, the satisfaction of helping tens of thousands of people.  It's not all beer and skittles though.  His success has proven that a good word from him in a guidebook translates into big money for the folks in the travel industry.  People hound, manipulate, beg, berate and banter for a recommendation from him.  A trip to Europe is always work with its niggling details.  Here are some of my favorite quotes:

    From the start, I had a passion for journal writing.
    I followed one strict rule: Never finish a day without writing it up.

    I learned to write by giving talks...I read one book - On Writing Well by William Zinsser.  When I feel like I should read another book to fine-tune my writing, I read Zinsser again. 

    Italians are a moveable party. 
    They can make a traffic jam fun.

    Good travel is more than counting blessings.  It's understanding them. You appreciate the vintner and the land in the bouquet of a fine wine. You let a favorite artist share new beauties in times and places you've never been. You eat better ice cream than you thought possible. And you warm your spirit in the glow of a European who's found his niche in life. Good travel makes God obvious to me.

  • Notes of Condolences

    "What should I say?"

    Don't we all have a hollow stomach when it comes time to write a note or make a phone call to a friend who has experienced the death of a loved one?  It is awkward and difficult and uncomfortable.  Often we try to write what makes us feel better and miss the opportunity to be a true comfort to the bereaved.  

    1.  I think the most common mistake we make is to gloss over the loss and go straight to the hope of the future, i.e. "I'm so sorry you lost your son in Iraq, but what a joy that you will see him again in heaven."  There is a time to every purpose under heaven, and that includes a time to mourn.  We need to allow time to process the loss, time to cry every tear in our body out, time to pull the blanket over our face and convulse. 

    Why are we so impatient with pain? We are we so uncomfortable with grief, so anxious to sweep it up and dispose of it?  One of the most asinine things I've ever heard was spoken to my girlfriend whose eighteen year old daughter was killed by a drunk driver.  Three months had passed since the accident; a woman approached my girlfriend whose taut-as-a-drum face reflected her grief and asked, "Aren't you over it yet?"

    2.   An easy way to slip-up is to gloss over the loss by going straight to the explanation.  We all become accountants and won't tolerate untidy loose strings of mystery.  Or we become a Fix-It Man who needs to fix whatever is broken.  What we say might be true...but the timing is false.  God does work all things together for good, a believer is undoubtedly happier in the presence of the Lord, the deceased is certainly spared more grief on this earth.  Expressions of faith -  "The Lord gives, the Lord takes away, Blessed be the name of the Lord" - are sometimes articulated by the bereaved.  If she says it, accept it.  If she doesn't, don't force it.

    3.  A less common error is to discount the loss.  After my dear neighbor lost her husband to a heart attack, another neighbor shrugged and dispensed his philosophy: "Well, we're all going to die sometime."  There is a temptation with the loss of a young child to use the fourth grade arithmetic skill of canceling:  "You can always have another child."  Or with the loss of an agéd parent, "At least she had a long and productive life."

    4.  Those who have experienced the death of a loved one can be tempted to say, "I know just how you feel".  Don't do it, even if you are convinced it is true.  Every relationship is unique. 

    When I write a note, I often employ the words of wiser and more articulate people.  This post is an attempt to gather together some of those words.

    ~ She who was so precious to you

    We are terribly saddened by the death of your cherished sister, our dear aunt; but our sorrow at losing her is as nothing compared to our concern for your sake, because your suffering will be all the greater, Sire, as truly you have no one else left in your world, now that she, who could not have been more precious to you, has parted, and therefore we can only imagine how you sustain the severity of such a sudden and completely unexpected blow... I will say no more, except that with all our hearts we fervently pray the Lord to comfort you and be with you always, and we greet you dearly with our ardent love.     

               from Galileo's daughter to Galileo, May 10, 1623.  Quoted in Galileo's Daughter

    ~ No words

    My favorite story about my father relates to a time when a co-worker lost a child.  My
    father went to his friend's house and sat with him and his wife.  They cried and just sat together.  No words were ever spoken.  Dad just
    soaked up some of the excess grief.  This man later told me that my
    father's silent presence was the greatest comfort during that time. Some times we can't be bodily present; some times I write There are no words.

    ~ It's hard

    When my dad died, my brother Jim wrote one of the most profound notes to our step-mother.  He wrote one sentence and signed his name.  It is hard to say goodbye

    This is what the Puritans called a 'hard providence' is another way to acknowledge the loss. 

    ~  God support you

    God bless you and support you under your heavy affliction.
        written to John Adams by Thomas Jefferson after the death of Abigail Adams

    ~  I'm sorry

    A very simple expression of love and sympathy: I'm sorry for your loss.

    ~ We're praying

    Another simple sentence which hits the spot: We're praying for you in this difficult time.

    Any suggestions?  I plan to add to this post as I come across other notes.